It's time to pick the recipient of the 2001 Dagfinn Ragg Award. Before giving you the list of nominees, let me refresh your memory regarding the award. The award is given in honor of Dagfinn to that person whose energy, time and love of the sport of cross-country skiing has helped make the sport better.

When I say cross-country,I mean all aspects of the sport should be considered. Dagfinn was a racing , touring and telemarking equally. Said another way, the award isn't limited to backcountry and telemark personalities but to people who have may have been involved in all aspects of the sport.

Below is a list of this year's nominees. Please vote for two (2) via e-mail or snail mail to my home address at 1545 NW Third Ave, Bend, OR 97701. You can also call in your vote to 541/389-9816.

The award will be made at the upcoming SIA show in Las Vegas.

Paul Parker-Dr.Freeheel. People forget Paul is an ace track skier as well.

Gary Neptune-longtime supporter of all aspects on nordic in the Rockies

Don Portman-Mr. Methow Valley and supporter of all x-c skiing

Lock Miller-Mr. Marmot retail and logtime supporter of x-c.

Wally @ Voile-a key figure in making bindings an American thing

Dick Hall-NATO and spreader the gospel of telemark skiing

Doug Robinson-early proponent of lightweight gear in the backcountry, sage and guide.

Bob Wade-Aspen retailer and x-c enthusiast

Peter Hale-From the Biathalon team to Nortur to Madshus, Hale's been on the scene

Mike Hattrup-Mr. K-2 backcountry/telemark guru

Bert Kleerup-Eagle River Nordic. the man who made ski testing essential

Michael Brady- American ex-pat living in Norway. Has written more about the sport than anyone.


PAUL PARKER is the winner of the 2002 Dagfinn Ragg award. Author, instructor, adventure skier, ski industry consultant, and product designer, Parker exemplifies the total cross country skier. Paul serves as a consultant to Tua Skis and his 3rd addition to Free Heel Skiing came off the press this past November.

The cross country ski community's one and only Oscar:

The annual Dagfinn Ragg award is the cross-country ski community's
one and only Oscar. And what better person to win the 2000 award than Chip
Chase, the pied piper of cross-country skiing south of the Mason-Dixon line.

Chip's infectious spirit and talent has turned thousands of cross-country
ski novices into lifelong participants in the sport. Chip stresses the fun, the
health benefits and the camaraderie that make cross-country such a great
sport. Hey, with a hundred more Chips running cross-country skis areas,
America would forget about watching NASCAR and the NFL and be out skiing.
Bob Woodward…one of our funniest wild man ski writers still on two feet, former Mayor of Bend, Oregon and tireless writer for many a ski and outdoor rag.

1997: David Chantler , REI * Seattle, Washington
1998: Clair Yost, Yostmark Ski Co. * Driggs, Idaho
1999: Steve Hardesty, Tua Ski Co * Boulder, Colorado
2000: Chip Chase, White Grass Ski Touring * Davis, West Virginia
2001: Steve Barnett, Author, Tele pioneer * Mazama, Washington
2002: Paul Parker, Skier, designer, and author * Breckenridge,CO


White Grass *Rt 1 Box 299 * Davis, WV * 26260 *304-866-4114

<>What Helps Make Us Strong<>Our Rates & Hours<>About the Place<>Lodging<>
Welcome<>Special Events<>Other Vital Info<>Cafe & Cookbook<>Daily Report<>